top of page

Ugh - Postpartum Hair Loss

"Ugh." The word I use at least four times a day in response to my seemingly never-ending hair loss; once in the shower, again while I comb my hair, again while I style it (when I actually get around to doing something other than just letting it air dry and putting it up), and again every time I feel that little spider-esk tickle on my arm.

Postpartum hair loss is a struggle. What's really (insert sarcastic tone of voice here) great about it is that it waited just long enough for me to forget it was coming.

The first couple of months of my son's life I didn't think about the impending hair loss. No, it waits to start until I've started to settle into a routine after an incredibly challenging transition from one to two kids ... it waits until I've started to feel just a touch of normalcy. And then, one day I am suddenly losing a lot of hair ... and the day after that, and the day after that. Then I talk to a friend who has a 10-month-old, who says her hair just stopped falling out. At this rate, it's a wonder us mothers have any hair left!

If anyone else is struggling with this - you are not alone - click here for some helpful info I found. I got my hair cut last week, and at least it doesn't look like it's been falling out. And I find comfort in that most everything I've read about it states that this type of hair loss is temporary. Can I get a hallelujah?

bottom of page