top of page

And so it began...

It was not far into my first pregnancy that I realized how much having children was going to take away from my bathroom freedoms. At the time, my focus was on the changes my body was going through, as I was also trying to wrap my head around what it would be like to become a mom (which no matter how much I thought I prepared, I was not at all prepared for what was ahead of me). I knew the morning sickness, the extreme tiredness, and the breast soreness was to be expected. I did not know of the bowel movement challenges I would face; it was one of the pregnancy symptoms no one bothered to mention to me.

About an hour before my 6-week appointment, I went into the bathroom to take care of business. My husband was going to be getting off work early to go to the appointment with me; it was our first appointment and ultrasound, both of which we were excited for. Little did I know, I was about to be stuck in the bathroom until well after my husband arrived home - I, as well as my poo, were stuck. It was clear that I was not going to make it to my appointment, which my husband had to call and reschedule.

It was a painful bummer. And so, my daughter started to affect how and when I would be able to poop - and she, along with my 5-week old son, seem to control that freedom which I used to take so very for granted.

bottom of page